Chakras and Health

Chakras and Health

Chakra” is from the Sanskrit language meaning “spinning wheel of light,” where energy is believed to enter into and go out of the body.

A chakra seems to be a psychic energy vortex that aligns and intermingles with the spine, nervous system, and glands.

Although science has yet to confirm the existence of chakras, science has shown that when people meditate and intentionally balance their perceived energy centers, it may positively affect the central nervous system.

Chakras may have been first described by the ancient Aryan culture that recorded them in India’s oldest written text, the Vedas, 1200-200 BCE. They are considered to be the truth by the Hindus and are linked to yoga. Some traditions say there are more chakras—such as nine or twelve—than the seven traditionally addressed in Western culture. Vajrayana Buddhism proposes only five.

However, since chakras are a vortex where energy can come in and out of the body, there may be no limit to how many there are. It is suggested to master your understanding of the seven-chakra system before adding more. In addition to the seven chakras, healing and spiritual traditions from various cultures teach us that we have energy openings in the palms of our hands and the soles of our feet.

Many people meditate upon the sixth as well as other chakras. The pineal gland fascinated René Descartes, a French philosopher and mathematician. He regarded it as the “principal seat of the soul, and the place in which all our thoughts are formed.” A seeker of truth, Descartes famously offered the meditation for us all to consider about our existence, “I think, therefore I am.”

Want to Align Your Energy?

Listen to Chakra Meditation

(Do not listen to meditations while driving or engaging in any activity that requires your full attention.)

Begin with your breath, taking a few slow deep breaths in and out. Bring your awareness to your first chakra, located at the base of your spine or your perineum.

When focusing on this part of you, notice what comes forward. Using all of your five senses in this area, notice what you might see, smell, hear, taste, or feel. Notice what feelings may be coming forward; are you experiencing tension, any emotions in this area, a feeling of being closed, protective, or open?

Perhaps you’re feeling joy, fear, sadness, anger, or love—just notice what’s coming forward. What might this part of you be communicating to you? There may be times when we feel nothing is coming forward. If so, just hang out with that blankness or feeling of nothingness, and observe what emotions might come forward—or perhaps it’s covering something up. We don’t want to push past this; bring love and compassion to this part of you, not trying to push past anything or make anything happen. Just let things unfold as they will, and come forward as they will. What does this part of you seem to be communicating to you?

Repeat this process, moving to your second chakra, located just below your belly button.

Now move to your third chakra, located at the center of your abdomen, just below the sternum.

Now proceed to your fourth chakra, located in the center of your chest, in your heart area.

Continue to your fifth chakra, located at your throat area.

Move to your sixth chakra, located at the forehead, the area be- tween your eyes.

Finally move to your seventh chakra, at the top of your head. When focusing on each chakra, become aware of:

  • What do you notice when focusing in this area?
  • What do you sense with your five senses?
  • What might you see, smell, hear, taste, or feel?
  • What qualities does it have?
  • What do you notice about the details: what color, shape, and texture does it have?
  • How do you feel when focusing on this area?
  • Do you experience joy, fear, anger, or love?
  • What does it convey to you or what may it be communicating to you?
  • What does this part of you need?
  • Bring love, compassion, understanding, and acceptance to this part of you.

The above questions can be used when connecting with any part of your being or body.

You may find it helpful to journal, draw, or paint messages or images that have come forward, and to correlate each message, image, or feeling with the meaning of each chakra. This will help you to further understand what these parts of you want you to know and understand to assist you in all aspects of your life, and to balance and align your mind, body, and spirit.

Excerpted from Intuitive Development: How to Trust Your Inner Knowing for Guidance with Relationships, Health, and Spirituality by Emmy Vadnais, OTR/L.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *